In the age of "big data,” the central challenge is to understand structures and relationships in data: to make them visible and explain them using models that allow predictions to be made. The Institute for Visual and Analytic Computing (VAC) brings together five well-established research groups of computer science who have been working in this field of research for many years. VAC will further develop this traditional and successful field of science in Rostock and lead it into the future.

The institute is part of the Faculty of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering at the University of Rostock and is located in the Konrad-Zuse Building on the Südstadt-Campus.

VAC bundles research competences in computer science, which are fundamental for the development of new methods for the elucidation of structures in data, both individually as well as in a network. With VAC, the computer-science location Rostock is further developing its research profile in order to have a visible, profiled, and agile research organisation for the scientific challenges of the future, which are characterized by digitalization, big data, and intelligent algorithms. VAC will represent this topic both in basic and applied research as well as in teaching. This also includes the continuation and expansion of the cooperation with research institutions such as the Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research (IGD), the Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research (MPIDR), and the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE).

The Institute for Visual and Analytic Computing is formed by the following research groups: Computer Graphics (Prof. Heidrun Schumann), Mobile Multimedia Information Systems (Prof. Thomas Kirste), Modelling and Simulation (Prof. Adelinde Uhrmacher), Multimedia Communication (Prof. Bodo Urban) and Visual Computing (Prof. Oliver Staadt). With more than 40 employees, VAC has a solid basis to represent the all aspects of Visual & Analytic Computing in research and teaching for the computer-science location Rostock.

Im Zeitalter von „Big Data“ ist die zentrale Herausforderung, Strukturen und Zusammenhänge in Daten zu verstehen: sie sichtbar zu machen und durch Modelle zu erklären, die Vorhersagen erlauben. Das Institut VAC vereint fünf Professuren der Informatik, die in diesem Forschungsfeld bereits langjährig gemeinsam wissenschaftlich aktiv sind. VAC wird dieses in Rostock traditionsreiche und erfolgreiche Wissenschaftsgebiet weiterentwickeln und in die Zukunft führen.
Das Institut ist Teil der Fakultät für Informatik und Elektrotechnik an der Universität Rostock und hat seinen Sitz im Konrad-Zuse-Haus auf dem Südstadt-Campus.

VAC bündelt Forschungskompetenzen der Informatik, die sowohl individuell als auch insbesondere im Verbund fundamental für Entwicklung neuer Methoden zur Aufklärung von Strukturen in Daten sind. Mit VAC entwickelt der Informatik-Standort Rostock sein Forschungsprofil weiter, um für die wissenschaftlichen Herausforderungen der Zukunft, die geprägt sind von Digitalisierung, Big Data, und intelligenten Algorithmen, über eine sichtbare, profilierte und agile Forschungsorganisation zu verfügen. VAC wird dieses Thema sowohl in der Grundlagenforschung und der wirtschaftlichen Translation als auch in der Lehre vertreten. Dazu gehört auch Fortführung und Ausbau der Kooperation mit Forschungsinstitutionen wie dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Graphische Datenverarbeitung.

Das Institut VAC wird gebildet von den Arbeitsgruppen Computergrafik (Prof. Heidrun Schumann), Mobile Multimediale Informationssysteme (Prof. Thomas Kirste), Modellierung und Simulation (Prof. Adelinde Uhrmacher), Multimediale Kommunikation (Prof. Bodo Urban) und Visual Computing (Prof. Oliver Staadt). Mit über 40 Mitarbeitern verfügt VAC mit diesen Arbeitsgruppen über eine solide Grundlage, um das Thema Visual & Analytic Computing für den Informatik-Standort Rostock in Forschung und Lehre zu vertreten.